Home Cigar 101

Questions on Taste

aaronaaron Everyone, Registered Users Posts: 14
I have been smoking for a couple years now, and I have had some very good sticks.  However, I find that many times about halfway through the cigars, they all have a wood taste that sometimes borders on cardboard.  This occurs with both with sticks from my humi and ones that I get from cigar.com straight from the box.  At first I thought maybe the humi was too wet, but when I had a RP Fusion double maduro straight out of the cigar.com box I began to wonder.  Am I smoking too fast perhaps?  So that when I get about halfway thru it is too hot, and the taste gets bland.  just wanting to maximize the smoking pleasure.  Thanks for reading and any advice

Comments

• CastleCrestCastleCrest Everyone, Registered Users Posts: 51
    I would of thought to dry not wet - but it's hard to say?
    I'd try slowing down your smoking (will always help).
    Long soft draws & not one right after another - let the cigar breath.

I wonder if you ever tried blowing through the cigar the wrong way.
    Getting any stale smoke out of the cigar - This might help!
  • handypantzhandypantz Everyone, Registered Users Posts: 86
    yeah I think CC might have it right,...sounds a bit like burned ash being caught in the cigar....
  • CastleCrestCastleCrest Everyone, Registered Users Posts: 51
    handypantz:
    ..sounds a bit like burned ash being caught in the cigar....

stale smoke -
  • jihiggsjihiggs Everyone, Registered Users Posts: 468
    how hot is too hot? If the cigar is "too hot" as I would define it, then you are smoking too fast/sucking too hard.
  • phishermanphisherman Everyone, Registered Users Posts: 79