Home Cigar 101

New to Cigars and Cigar.com

Snake EyesSnake Eyes Everyone, Registered Users Posts: 6
Hello all... I am new to the cigar world and was wondering if anyone had recommendations for a first humidor. I have to stay bottom end as far as price goes, but want something worth my money that will do a quality job and holds 100 cigars...

Comments

• rwheelwrightrwheelwright Everyone, Registered Users Posts: 3,294
    What's your price range?
    I have this one and like it. They have a smaller one that is a little cheaper that holds about 75 too.

http://www.cigar.com/cigars/viewcigar.asp?prod=M-SPHUM03-MH
  • Snake EyesSnake Eyes Everyone, Registered Users Posts: 6
    I would need to stay below 70 bucks...
  • dutyjedutyje Everyone, Registered Users Posts: 2,263
    Hey Snake, welcome aboard. Take that budget and throw it out the window. You may be able to get a nice 100-ct for that price, but you've also got to factor in a digital hygrometer (which your humi won't have.. it may have an analog, but those are paper weights) and a humidification system (if you want to use the humidifer that came with the humi, that is acceptable, but learn how to use it correctly with PG solution. Look for a recent post by rusirius that will detai the process for you).

Budget about $30-50 for your humidification and hygrometer. And then, of course, you're going to have to fill it. Budget your next paycheck for that. And stock it before April 1st so you don't get smacked with the extra taxes.
  • bass8844bass8844 Everyone, Registered Users Posts: 416
    Hey snake...dutyje makes a good point, not only is there the humidor, you also need the proper accessories.

To fit your budget, you might want to use a large tupperware container or a small ice cooler. I use a large cooler, and it works great. The only thing is that these coolers are not lined with spanish cedar. If you are storing boxes, there is no problem, since most boxes are made of spanish cedar.