Home Cigar 101

Bands with too much glue.........

Bob LukenBob Luken Everyone, Registered Users Posts: 3,664
How do you remove a stubborn band . If it's my first time to try one I like to save the band, but what's a good way to remove i when it's impossiblly glued and it's obviously gonna tear? Just smoked a 'core" and I destroyed the band because there was too much glue. :( What do I do next time? I've heard some of you guys mention using a razor blade. Any advice?

Comments

• Amos UmwhatAmos Umwhat Everyone, Registered Users Posts: 2,523
    Smoke it down close
  • SleevePlzSleevePlz Everyone, Registered Users Posts: 5,408
    If you want to save it, then I would recommend using an x-acto knife. You can be precise enough with it to not damage the wrapper leaf. I don't like waiting until the cigar burns down, however. Dealing with a longer stick is easier and safer when removing the band.
  • YankeeManYankeeMan Everyone, Registered Users Posts: 1,377
    Smoke it for a little bit though, it loosens the glue somewhat. The knife is the way to go, just be careful not to cut the wrapper leaf.

• macs-smokesmacs-smokes Everyone, Registered Users Posts: 585
    Touch of soft flame.
  • webmostwebmost Everyone, Registered Users Posts: 3,131
    Don't be a band geek. Rip it off.

I love this box of Nestor Reserve 2000 I grabbed off the knock down shelf. Sharp edged rectangular box pressed robustos with delicate wrappers and tight tight glue. I defy you to remove a band intact. Burnt one just last night. Rip 'em bands, I say.

• Bob LukenBob Luken Everyone, Registered Users Posts: 3,664
    macs-smokes:
    Touch of soft flame.
    Ha! Funny you should mention that. I tried that trick on the "Core" but before I did I had first tried to peel the band to see if it would come off. So,......The leading edge of the band was raised a little bit,..............(Can you guess what happened yet?)........ I lit the band on fire. Told ya' I destroyed it. LOL